So much to do, so little time…

I realised it has been a whole month since my last blog. This is partially because I have been doing other things, such as get my exhibition ready for the corridors of Westmead Hospital, going to university and doing assignmentIMG_6851_2s, and co-launching a book!

The book is currentlyIMAG1933 on display at John Hunter Hospital – see left- by invitation from the coordinator of the Arts for Health program, along with others from the book nook at the hospital, including the luscious Tottie and Dot, and local author illustator combo book I Don’t Like Cheese.

The launch was a delightful experience and I am very keen to do that again. Luckily for me, I will get to do it all again with EK books, as I have just signed a contract for three new books! Yes, three!! In one year. The books will be in a set especially for girls. I switch between high excitement to terror as I think about this task, but it will get done! I started preliminary sketches a little while ago, and and met with Anouska and Susan for contracts, coffee, and constructive conversation at the delicious Macadamia Farm cafe. I’m loving the process of making picture books, especially plotting the pages, forming characters, imagining illustrations of interest and then making them a reality. I also love coffee.

20150330_103301 20150330_123658

I also have been approached to illustrate another book with an author which will be a very special one indeed, I can feel it. More later!

I am taking Don’t Think About Purple Elephants to Seoul with me this week to donate to a library there, I like the thought of them being read in different countries. I will have to investigate the art shops while I’m there too!

Leave a Reply

